Parish Council

The Parish Council is a statutory body which oversees local affairs.

It consists of 9 members who are elected every four years.

It is responsible for such matters as village street lighting, grass-cutting and Settrington Beck, and for liaison with other statutory bodies such as Ryedale District Council, NYCC Highways, etc.

Ryedale District Council consults the Parish Council with regard to Planning matters, however the latter can only advise; decisions rest with the District Council.

Meetings of the Council are held regularly; anyone may attend them (and speak, having first requested permission from the Council). The Agenda and Minutes are posted on the Parish Council Notice Board (located between the school fence and the post box) and on the village website; the annual accounts, which show how the local precept is utilised, are available for scrutiny after having been audited.

The Clerk to the Parish Council is Bruce Skinner (Tel: 01944 768276 / email: – he should be able to answer most queries you may have.

List of Parish Councillors 2019

Name Address Tel.No/E-mail address
Mrs Sue Blagden Glebe House
Church Lane
01944 768327
Mrs Pauline Durant 7 Cockgarth 01944 768284
Mr John Harrison ‘The Cobblers’,                          Town Green Lane 01944 768476
Mr Norman Lamb ‘New Dairy Farm’,                      42A Back Lane 01944 768318
Mr Philip Marwood ‘Bellmanear Farm’                    Grimston Lane 01944 768135
Mr Alan Mitchell ‘Brook Farm Barn’,                     Back Lane 01944 768407
Mrs Ruth Russell ‘1 Rectory Farm Cottages’,         Back Lane 01944 768750
Mr Peter Smith ‘St George’s Cottage’,              Beckside 01944 768279
Mr Stewart Walker 19 Cockgarth 07876 215296